Author Topic: How to keep display resolution[SOLVED]  (Read 2548 times)

madjo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • wattOS R8 LXDE
    • View Profile
How to keep display resolution[SOLVED]
« on: July 22, 2014, 09:16:05 AM »
I want to change resolution on my old PC to 1280x1024,which is ideal for 17" screen.I'm typing in Terminal this:

Code: [Select]
xrandr --newmode "1280x1024" 109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-0 "1280x1024"
xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode "1280x1024"

Everything goes perfect, but when i restarting PC resolution goes back to 1024x768,and in monitor settings there is no 1280x1024 resolution to choose !
How to keep this ?

I'm using WattOS R8 LXDE 32 bit, VGA Radeon 9200 SE.

Thanks in advance.  :)
« Last Edit: July 25, 2014, 01:05:21 AM by madjo »

Maroman

  • Guest
Re: How to keep display resolution
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2014, 11:08:54 AM »
your graphic card is rather old (i seems to be based on R200 chipset), but not too old. look at X.Org X server -- AMD/ATI Radeon display driver (hope you have this one installed)
Quote
This package provides the 'radeon' driver for the AMD/ATI cards. The
following chips should be supported: R100, RV100, RS100, RV200, RS200,
RS250, R200, RV250, RV280, RS300, RS350, RS400/RS480, R300, R350, R360, and so on
your chips is mentioned.

all available resolutions can be seen either via xrandr command (have you tried to display them?) or its front-end (menu>preferences>monitor settings). you can of course define new resolution but the question is how it works. if good and there is a problem with permanent setting the resolution so you can use small bash script to set it all every time. you can put it in autostart directory a desktop file with exec line as follows
Code: [Select]
Exec=bash -c 'xrandr --newmode "1280x1024" 109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync; xrandr --addmode VGA-0 "1280x1024"; xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode "1280x1024"'(all three commands in one line, semicolon ; as a line separator).

on other hand you can try to experiment with different drivers.

cheers,

Cadejo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: How to keep display resolution
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2014, 01:58:21 PM »
Alternatively, take a look at the below posting for a similar issue.

http://planetwatt.com/newforum/index.php?topic=126.0

I got away with it by making a simple xrandr script and making the window manager point to it. 

To do this.  Go to /etc/lightdm/

Make the resolution script
#sudo nano xrandrscript

#! /bin/sh
xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1680x1050 --right-of LVDS


control X to exit and save

Then point the lightdm.conf to the script

#sudo nano /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf
edit the line that says display-setup and throw the script location there.

display-setup-script=/etc/lightdm/xrandrscript


I hope this helps...
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 11:48:18 PM by Cadejo »

madjo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • wattOS R8 LXDE
    • View Profile
Re: How to keep display resolution
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2014, 08:46:35 AM »
Ok.

@Maroman, i have already installed AMD/ATI Radeon display driver.I tryed to make script like you said, but i cant do it.Can you be please more specific what i have to do ?  :)
--------
@Cadejo, i'm creating resolution script,its easy. But i do not get how to do "point the lightdm.conf to the script". Cause when i type in terminal sudo nano /etc/lightdm.conf there is empty file...there is nothing to change... please be more precise ...

Thanks guys !  :)

Maroman

  • Guest
Re: How to keep display resolution
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2014, 09:26:03 AM »
you need to create desktop file in your $HOME/.config/autostart directory (for specification you can cp. here), let say redeon.desktop. the script should be here in Exec line
Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Name=Radeon Settings
Comment=any comment, not obligatory
#your script
Exec=bash -c 'script here'
Type=Application
I have shown only obligatory elements of desktop file. at the moment I'm not going into details with your script assuming it works.

in Exec line you can put any bash script. your script is longer, more than a line so every line should be ended with semicolon ";". Every time you start your system the script sets radeon values.

by the way, I'm a bit confused. Have you still settings problem after installing x.org radeon driver?

cheers,

Cadejo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: How to keep display resolution
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2014, 11:53:41 PM »
for my part, it was a typo!  The correct file is /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf

I also provided a snap shot.

madjo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • wattOS R8 LXDE
    • View Profile
Re: How to keep display resolution
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2014, 01:04:25 AM »
It works !! Thank you guys, so much.  :) :)
I created a simple desktop file and put in autostart folder,just like Maroman said.

Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Name=Radeon Settings
Comment=any comment
#
Exec=bash -c 'xrandr --newmode "1152x864" 81.75  1152 1216 1336 1520  864 867 871 897 -hsync +vsync; xrandr --addmode VGA-0 "1152x864"; xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode "1152x864"'
Type=Application

I changed resolution to 1152x864, it looks better than 1280x1024 on my display.