Author Topic: Xorg.conf problems  (Read 1867 times)

salvaribeiro

• View Profile
Xorg.conf problems
« on: February 20, 2017, 02:00:21 PM »
Hi there. Although I do have some software analysis experience I'm somewhat new to both wattOS and Linux, so please excuse me if this is not the proper place to posting this type of question.

I've recently installed a 3D printer in my house and decided to use an old Pentium 4 I have as an interface for it. WattOS seemed like the best OS option, but I can't make it recognize my display, so the resolution is not enough to operate the software. After some research and a lot of trial and error I managed to make it work by running "X -configure" at the system boot as the root in advanced options. The problem is it doesn't save this configuration and every time I reboot the system I have to do it again.

Amongst other similar things, I have also tried disabling the X service from the "Ctrl+Alt+F1" console, running "X -configure" and them moving the generated "xorg.conf" file to the "/etc/X11" folder, but this also doesn't work. I don't know if this is a Linux specific question of if it is somehow related to the way wattOS distro is setup, so I'm a bit lost here. If anyone here knows how to make this work I'd really appreciate the help.

cheiron

• Global Moderator
  • Site Moderator for Planetwatt.com
    • View Profile
Re: Xorg.conf problems
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2017, 07:26:45 PM »
what graphics card / chip are you running please

salvaribeiro

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2017, 04:14:21 PM »