Author Topic: Slow boot  (Read 2865 times)

Zak

• View Profile
Slow boot
« on: December 17, 2016, 06:07:23 AM »
Hey everyone - glad to have this place to come to for help!

I recently upgraded to R10 and the boot up is really slow.  Shutdown is lightening quick, but boot up is painful.  I have some computer knowledge, but am not an expert.  Does anyone have any ideas on how to speed up the boot process or where to look for problems?

Thanks!
Zak

blaze

• wattOS Veteran
  • blazing away
    • View Profile
Re: Slow boot
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2016, 10:12:32 PM »
I recently upgraded to R10 and the boot up is really slow.

Not sure that I have much help to offer. But out of curiosity, I wonder from what did you upgrade? Or is it just an expression, when you in reality did a clean install, and went from let`s say R9 to R10?

You have to find the boot log, to see if there is something out of the ordinary.
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way; http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

... and when SOLVED, please edit thread title in first post! :)

Zak

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2016, 05:14:32 AM »
Hey Blaze!  Thanks for the reply. 

I had previously used R9 and that had a quick boot and shutdown.  Then I did a clean install and installed R10.

Thanks for the suggestion on the boot log.  Where do I find that?

blaze

• wattOS Veteran
  • blazing away
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2016, 08:11:26 AM »
To see current boot;

Code: [Select]
journalctl -b
It is a lot of text, so it is not easy to find the culprit. Added a link about it. At the moment I am on a straight Debian system, but it should work on R10 too. :)

https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-use-journalctl-to-view-and-manipulate-systemd-logs

Read and Google away! ;D
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way; http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

... and when SOLVED, please edit thread title in first post! :)

Zak

• View Profile