Author Topic: Compared to Lubuntu  (Read 7724 times)

bob_u

• View Profile
Compared to Lubuntu
« on: January 02, 2016, 07:13:31 PM »
Hello WattOS community,

What are the major differences between WattOS and Lubuntu?
What's removed or modified to make WattOS lighter?

I've been running R9 with LXDE for a few days.  So far things seem OK.
Project plan:  Setup Owncloud and a wifi access point for a "desert island" file sharing server.  About 80% complete.

Running on an older Dell laptop.
http://www.cnet.com/products/dell-inspiron-700m/specs/
Overcame some minor issues with forcePAE, but that's a Pentium-M bug.

Bob U.

ManWithShed

• View Profile
Re: Compared to Lubuntu
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2016, 02:56:10 PM »
Hi Bob,

I am a newbie here myself, so unfortunately unable to answer your initial question. However, I am quite interested in your file server project.  Have you made any progress with it?

Rog

cheiron

• Global Moderator
  • Site Moderator for Planetwatt.com
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2016, 04:45:21 PM »
Hey Bob!

Biff should be about pretty soon to discuss this with you!

Wattos is alot lighter than lubuntu on resources due to how biff has written it along with choices of applications.

Its a bit to get you started for the moment.  I'll try and expand further when I get home and not sneaking this in on my phone at work

Dekorte01

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2016, 09:03:31 AM »
Hello,

I am still curious too :)

Marcel

tukoz

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2016, 10:07:59 PM »
Also Lubuntu doesn't ship an i3 desktop ready to use, and that one is lightning fast! And the former has gotten quite fatter somewhere between 12.10 and 14.04 (official requirements honestly reflect that, forget to lighten the cause behind though).

+1 I also like to learn on that topic.

cheiron

• Global Moderator
  • Site Moderator for Planetwatt.com
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2016, 06:10:16 PM »