Author Topic: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?  (Read 3388 times)

BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Japanese Information
What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« on: May 17, 2014, 02:03:18 AM »
Please share the specifications of the PC using your wattOS.
This helps that everybody knows the movement environment of wattOS.

There should be such contents:
  • wattOS release version (wattOS R8)
  • LXDE or MATE or Microwatt
  • Model type & number in the case of a maker PC (Eee PC 4G-X)
  • CPU (Intel Celeron M 900MHz)
  • Video Card or Chipset (Intel 910GML Express/ICH6-M)
  • Memory (512MB)
  • Hard disk or SSD (SSD 4GB)
  • Information to make peculiarity in a model

BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen. (ふうせん Fu-sen.) from Japan
Japanese Information http://installlinux.jimdo.com/linux-%E3%83%A1%E3%83%A2/wattos/

BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Japanese Information
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2014, 02:09:23 AM »
My wattOS Main PC are as follows:

SONY VAIO M VCG-M52B/L (Japan ver.)
  • CPU: Celeron 2.80GHz
  • Video: SiS 661FX
  • Mmeory: 2GB
  • HD: 250GB

I install wattOS R8 LXDE/MATE/Microwatt in this.

SiS video produces a problem in Ubuntu base distribution after 12.10.
Therefore, it has a problem to use wattOS R7, R7.5 in this PC.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2014, 02:47:51 AM by BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen. »
BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen. (ふうせん Fu-sen.) from Japan
Japanese Information http://installlinux.jimdo.com/linux-%E3%83%A1%E3%83%A2/wattos/

cheiron

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 132
  • Site Moderator for Planetwatt.com
    • View Profile
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2014, 12:23:45 PM »
4 pc's in use for wattos use/testing here in order of age (oldest to newest)


viglen latop,  p3 cpu, 10gb ide hard drive, 256mb ram fully maxed with 32 meg going to graphics (wattos 7 and microwatt)


hp pavillion 471uk. p4 single core, 80gb sata hard drive, 512mb ram fully maxed, nvidea geforce 4 mx 420 graphics (64mb dedicated) (waatos 7,7.5, microwatt and 8 )


home brew pc with athalon 5600x2 cpu, 500gig sata hd, 2gig ddr2 ram and 1gig nvidea gt210 graphics (wattos 7.5)

compaq presario cq57 laptop amd apu, 500gb sata hard drive, 4gig ddr3 ram with hd radeon dual core graphics (microwatt 7.5 +8, wattos 6,7 +8)
« Last Edit: May 17, 2014, 03:43:28 PM by cheiron »

Jeffrywith1e

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2014, 03:16:17 PM »
I just installed it on my old ASUS EEE 901A. Easy install. I was using CrunchBang, but that was just too big for this little guy. Microwatt is very similar so far.

BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Japanese Information
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2014, 12:14:18 AM »
Capacity just after the installation of wattOS R8 did not reach 3GB.
Early EeePC is 4GB SSD, We can install and use wattOS in this. (2GB is indeed severe...)
This becomes the big means to be able to make use of EeePC in.

BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen. (ふうせん Fu-sen.) from Japan
Japanese Information http://installlinux.jimdo.com/linux-%E3%83%A1%E3%83%A2/wattos/

Mike W

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2014, 01:33:40 PM »
Running WattOS r6 LXDE on the following machine for well over a year now:

     - Dell Dimension 2300 desktop pc (purchased new in Nov 2002)
     - 2.4GHz Pentium 4 processor
     - 1GB RAM
     - 80GB HDD
     - 3.5" Floppy disk drive
     - CD disk drive (no DVD)
     - Nvidia GeForce 6200 (with 512MB DDR2)

I have also tested Microwatt 7.5 and the new r8 on this computer, using a live CD, and both run well.

However, because the LTS r6 version is running so well, I'll probably stick with it for as long as it's actively supported.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 01:49:52 PM by Mike W »

Jeffrywith1e

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2014, 02:23:49 PM »
Capacity just after the installation of wattOS R8 did not reach 3GB.
Early EeePC is 4GB SSD, We can install and use wattOS in this. (2GB is indeed severe...)
This becomes the big means to be able to make use of EeePC in.

I loved Crunchbang and was sad it no longer fit after it's last update. The timing was pretty good, though. I went to distrowatch.com and stumbled upon wattOS. Hadn't even heard of it before. Microwatt is exactly what I was looking for coming from Crunchbang.

BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Japanese Information
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2014, 02:59:04 PM »
wattOS will become the good suggestion to a person having a problem in CrunchBang.
One is reduction of the capacity.

Microwatt can treat the person who used Crunchbang effectively.  :)
CrunchBang uses Openbox and tint2. This is constitution same as R8 Microwatt.
The person using Microwatt can obtain technique hint in CrunchBang.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 03:06:48 PM by BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen. »
BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen. (ふうせん Fu-sen.) from Japan
Japanese Information http://installlinux.jimdo.com/linux-%E3%83%A1%E3%83%A2/wattos/

lbl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2014, 04:54:05 PM »
watt os r6 32 bit  lxde
Dell dimension 3000
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
2GB ram
40 gb hard drive


Just found compatible printer hp deskjet 2132  R6 found drivers for it
Basicly plug & Play  finally Windows  free  Estatic  THANKS

Can't wait to educate & donate.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2015, 12:59:38 PM by lbl »

BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Japanese Information
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2014, 03:42:17 PM »
I installed wattOS R8 LXDE in EeePC 4G-XU. (Eee PC 701 4G Japan model)  ;)
This was Windows XP preinstallation model in Japan.
  • Display pixel: 800x480
  • CPU: Intel Celeron M 900MHz
  • Video: Intel 910GML (GMA900 compatible)
  • Memory: 2GB (change from 512MB)
  • SSD: 4GB
BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen. (ふうせん Fu-sen.) from Japan
Japanese Information http://installlinux.jimdo.com/linux-%E3%83%A1%E3%83%A2/wattos/

blaze

  • wattOS Veteran
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
  • blazing away
    • View Profile
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2014, 06:20:12 PM »
The test install of the microwatt OpenBox in a virtualbox were such fun so I decided to try it out on bare metal. Had a 30gb partiton free on an eeepc 1000H, everything cool so far.
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way; http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

... and when SOLVED, please edit thread title in first post! :)

thriftee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2014, 05:42:55 PM »
This is my first machine with wattOS on it.  I am away from home for a week and attempting to set it up in such a manner that I'll be able to use a similar setup for my other laptops and desktops

This particular machine is

wattOS R8
Microwatt
HP DV9000 17" 1440x900 Laptop with webcam and touchpad
AMD Turion X2 64 about 2 ghz
NVIDIA 7150M Graphics
4 gb RAM
2 SATA drives, 250 gb Windows Vista + 320 gb various Linux distros
SD card slot - non bootable
DVD R/W
4 USB ports
Ext VGA Port (sometimes with 22" monitor)
WiFi
RJ-45 Ethernet
S-Video

I have older laptops, and will try it on a Dell Inspiron 8100 with 933 mhz Celeron and 512 mb with 20 gb drive when I get home.

I will also try it on my desktops once I have it working on the laptops, but they get tricky due to the 780i motherboards with triple SLI dual output PCI-E Video boards with 6 screens attached to each.  I also have an additional 4 screens (up to 4, but usually 2 per desktop) hooked via eVGA adaptors off USB ports.  I don't know if I can get those to work on Linux or not, but will give it a try.  There are 18 screens total in the array, usually 2 to 4 of which are driven by the laptops, and the rest are divided between the desktops.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2014, 05:44:47 PM by thriftee »

madjo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • wattOS R8 LXDE
    • View Profile
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2014, 10:48:32 AM »
Here is specs of my old pc:

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2500+
1.3 gb RAM
Radeon 9200
HD 80 gb

Installed WattOS R8 LXDE 32 bit and everything goes perfect, except resolution of display.I cant choose better resolution than 1024 x768, due to video card Radeon 9200.

Except that, i have stable and very fast pc. ;)

zephyr

  • Guest
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2014, 09:05:12 PM »
I use a home built AMD based computer. Utilizing a Gigabyte 970A-D3p 64 bit mobo, AMD-AM3-8320-8-core processor, 16Gb memory, and about 5 Tb t of hard drives (6 total).  Packed inside a 20 year old all aluminum full tower case I cannot part from. WattOS on my computer idles at about 250 Mb of memory, while all others are 360 Mb above. My video card is an older HDMI & DVI-D, ATI 6450.  I do distro hop, looking for those few really good stable OS. Surprisingly I use SID, I use to think unstable was exactly that, but not true. I have had great success and stability from VSIDO and AntiX. I began to learn early on that most all Linux OS have a serious flaw somewhere, it is what you can live with. No matter it is still superior to Windows hands down.  I am also experimenting with Liquorix kernel on Sparky Linux O/B 3.4. Seems to work well. I have been with Linux for about 9 months, enjoy tinkering with conky script and Tint2. I also have found a work around with installing themes and icons that Gdebi refuses to install. It is great that you can mess up, crash your OS repeatedly and don't have to get permission and give explanation why you need to reinstall it. Learning Linux is trial and error for me, and patience. All forums have great people, collectively helping one and another. I look forward to asking questions, and helping others, although a noob, I learn a little more about Debian everyday. WattOS I'm keeping, it is a great distro. Thanks-zephyr.   

nik0laus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: What kind of PC do you use wattOS with?
« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2015, 09:39:41 PM »
Here are the specs of an old laptop of mine that WattOS gave new life to it.

WattOS  R9 LXDE
HP NC6000
CPU: Intel Pentium M  1,6 GHz , 2MB L2 Cache
Ram: 768 MB
HDD: 40 GB

Everything's running more than fine : Office work , web surfing, audio-video streaming (Utube, sportlemon etc.)
I am not asking for anything more from this machine .

I installed the same distro at my little daughter's laptop (the same model but with a weaker CPU at 1,5GHz- 1MB L2 cache ) with the same results