Author Topic: Reinstall Grub2? (SOLVED)  (Read 81 times)

Zak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Reinstall Grub2? (SOLVED)
« on: August 31, 2017, 12:50:30 AM »
Hey everyone...Watt's up? 8)

I need some help.  I have been using R10 for awhile (installed it on a computer I was given and that had previously had a different Linux distro). Been rolling along fine until last week when I wanted to live test SliTaz.  I then wanted to return home to R10 after visiting the world of SliTaz and, when I rebooted (with all USBs and CDs removed and boot order reset to SATA HD booting first), it keeps coming up with the Slitaz Live CD menu.  I have been troubleshooting with a very helpful guy (I am assuming guy....) named Ceel over at Slitaz and his assessment is that when I installed WattOS, I left a 20G partition untouched from the old distro.  He thinks somehow I installed SliTaz on that 20G and the SliTaz's installer has overwritten the MBR and installed its bootloader.   It appears that WattOS does probably still exist on the 130GB partition.  He said to come back to wattOS, I have to re-install Grub2 from the wattOS LiveUSB,  I don't know how to do that.  Can anyone advise me? 

Also, if anyone has any other thoughts of what might be going on, I would be grateful!
« Last Edit: September 02, 2017, 05:35:05 PM by Zak »

blaze

  • wattOS Veteran
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • blazing away
    • View Profile
Re: Reinstall Grub2?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2017, 02:48:37 PM »
A weird one. Link with original SliTaz forum thread below.

http://forum.slitaz.org/topic/cant-access-hard-drive

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way; http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

... and when SOLVED, please edit thread title in first post! :)

blaze

  • wattOS Veteran
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • blazing away
    • View Profile
Re: Reinstall Grub2?
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2017, 02:53:15 PM »
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way; http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

... and when SOLVED, please edit thread title in first post! :)

Zak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Reinstall Grub2?
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2017, 04:59:39 PM »
Hey Blaze - nice to see you again!  And, as always, you are so responsive and helpful.  And...thanks for linking that thread.  I didn't think of doing that.

Yes, your link makes sense.  To make sure I understand, I will boot from the Watt LIveUSB, and mount the 130gb drive, where Watt OS is, and proceed with the instructions.  Is that right?

Thanks Blaze!

blaze

  • wattOS Veteran
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • blazing away
    • View Profile
Re: Reinstall Grub2?
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2017, 07:26:07 PM »
No worry Zak. Yes try that and see what happens. If it fails you might want to check out "supergrub".

http://www.supergrubdisk.org/
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way; http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

... and when SOLVED, please edit thread title in first post! :)

leenie

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Reinstall Grub2?
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2017, 11:11:46 PM »
Hi Zak, this has saved my bacon many times: https://sourceforge.net/p/boot-repair-cd/home/Home/

Zak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Reinstall Grub2?
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2017, 04:06:16 AM »
Thanks Leenie!  Nice to see you again, too!  I will try these this weekend and report back with success or questions.

Thanks!

Zak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Reinstall Grub2? (SOLVED)
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2017, 05:36:41 PM »
Yea!  So grateful!  I used the link Blaze suggested and it was a piece of cake.  One thing I realized while doing it....it was the 20gb hard drive that I needed to change.  Went smooth as silk!

Thanks again guys for your quick replies and helpful suggestions!

Zak

blaze

  • wattOS Veteran
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • blazing away
    • View Profile
Re: Reinstall Grub2? (SOLVED)
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2017, 02:44:42 PM »
Glad to hear that things went well for you Zak. Keep it up!  :)
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way; http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

... and when SOLVED, please edit thread title in first post! :)